My Little Purchase

19 Aug

It’s been a while since I intentionally decided to buy an item of clothing that wasn’t meant for a certain occasion. A girlfriend that I hadn’t seen in ages inspired me to make the purchase. This lovely girlfriend is a well-built African sista, hips, bums, thighs and the whole shabang! She wears mini’s, tights, skinny jeans and doing it all while looking posh, effortlessly, hence my burning desire to be like her.

She’s fly, vibrant, young at heart and a laugh by the minute with the voice of an angel – I swear God must go weak in the knees when he hears her. But back to my story…. As a mother, my self-image is not what it used to be because my body has changed. I’m so focused on routines, daily meals (Sams and ours), pumping at work and the whole work situation that one day rolls into the next. Before I know it, two weeks have passed: my hair is still in its filthy pony-tail, my eyebrows are screaming to the thrashed (I won’t even mention my white hairy legs that never see the light of day or the razor blade) and dressing up has become more of a work-out than anything else, trying to find something that fits is a mission. I’m not looking to wear school-girl-short mini’s with a killer pair of leopard print stilettos neither am I going to pretend like my body has not carried a child (this is where I hang my head in shame) but if Stella got her groove back then I don’t see why I can’t either.

I’m looking to regain a little self-confidence, you know, I want to know that I’ve still got it and that my man can still look at me and want to ravish me! I want to be cool and cute all rolled into one. And it’s so funny that a little piece of material can do it for me (and many of us mothers out there). I’m not a small girl but over time I have learnt how to dress my body type – I want to let go (just a teeny-weeny bit), smile a naughty smile, feel sexy and believe that while I juggle different roles, it can be done with the utmost feminine finesse.

This comment from Charmaine Masinga off my Facebook page had me in stitches and  it summed up every reason why mini’s should be worn everyday…. She says: “I think you’ve just found your mind. Don’t you know? Mini-skirts are the new mommy uniforms. You pick your kids up from school in them, attend meetings, do groceries, clean the house in them.Very handy indeed.”

Every girl needs a girlfriend that inspires them (not only to buy clothes) but to make yourself feel like you’ve still got it because let’s face it, if you don’t do this for yourself, no one else will. Go on, do whatever you have to do to make yourself feel fabulous.

 

2 Responses to “My Little Purchase”

  1. Robyn August 19, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    You go girl, even mommies want and NEED to feel like a million bucks sometimes! Imma get me a mini too!

    Like

  2. Leah August 19, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Corinne as usual I’m left very inspired! Your blog always leaves a smile on my face or leaves me with a new thought. I have a ton of clothing but can show you a handful of outfits that I’ve worn over and over within the last year. It ‘s become so easy to fall into this routine trap and I am nothing (looks wise that is) like the woman and mother I envisioned I would be. I’ve gained a ton of weight and dress 10years my senior and feel like crap many days when I dare to look at myself in the mirror. So reading your statement about how a piece of material can do it for us I had to agree it does wonders for ones self confidence….Excellent writing by the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

