Just One Of Them Days

28 Aug

We all know the lyrics to Monica’s song, “Just one of them days, that a girl goes through when I’m angry inside, don’t wanna take it out on you”.  I feel like I’m having one of those days today because this has been a week from hell! Samuel got sick towards the end of last weekend so we’ve had a week with “The Crab”! This child refused to be put down to play or even to sleep on his own (for daytime naps), poo up to his shoulder blades in the middle of the night (from his meds) EVERY NIGHT and try put a very awake crabby child back to sleep after a nappy and pajama change. To top it all off – he refused to let his father pacify or comfort him at nighttime so I was left at the end of myself and super cranky due to the major deficit in the sleep department. I found myself filled with more rage than compassion and terribly guilty because my child was sick and really needed extra TLC way more than my ranting or aggravation. Sick babies are not for sissies or the employed!

Then there’s still the usual – my serial non-sleeper issues. I feel partly to blame because as a mother of child number one, I got up for his every whim and picked him up, cardinal rule number one broken, not to mention a failed attempt at sleep training. Then there’s trying to get into shape to look as close to a yummy mummy as possible (gym here I come) and the work thing bugs me as I will be officially unemployed by the end of next week!

The point of this post is not to be a drag, as much as it may seem so but to say that it takes a village to help a mother out! When you’ve reached the end of yourself (and I’m positive there will be more of these days) then we need to reach out and get help, and that help can come in many forms. For some, it’s a simple positive thought, a scripture, coffee with a good friend but if that’s not enough for you then that’s okay too. I decided to join a mother’s connect (cell) group at my church that meets during the week (because I’ll now have more time) and if that’s still not enough, there’s counselling. I used to think that counselling was for the weak in mind and I underestimated the power of christian counselling and how a different perspective can make a world of difference. For others, a visit to your doctor maybe in order to check out hormonal levels, those things can wreak havoc with your sanity if left unchecked!

While spring is around the corner and we focus on cleaning our houses or wardrobes, I’m going to try my hardest to focus on my emotions, my thought-life and more importantly building up my spirit. We are the glue that holds our families together so we best do what we need to to take care of ourselves. No doubt a good nap will have me all smiles again, but I realized that it’s okay if I need a little more than a simple pep-me-up.

One Response to “Just One Of Them Days”

  1. gstering September 1, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Thank you for added my post to your blog. I think it’s an honor. May you continue to enjoy the beauty of motherhood.

    Like

Leave a Reply

