I Love Wearing My Baby

13 Oct

“Babywearing” simply means holding or carrying a baby or young child using a cloth baby carrier. Holding babies is natural and universal; baby carriers make it easier and more comfortable, allowing parents and caregivers to hold or carry their children while attending to the daily tasks of living. Babywearing helps a new dad put a fussy newborn to sleep. It allows a new mom use both hands to make a sandwich. It lets an experienced parent or caregiver carry a baby on her back and wash the dishes, do the laundry, take a hike, or weed the garden, all while keeping the baby safe and content. This practice if far from new, for those of us raised by maids, “baleta-ring” is an age-old tradition passed down, especially when our little ones don’t want to sleep the usual way or there’s work to be done in our homes.

I’ve always been a baby carrier! ALWAYS! That’s because my son is a terrible sleeper and yes, that is my fault but I KNOW I’m not alone in that department, just ask “Scary Mommy”. When Sam was a few days old, in an effort to get things done or just get him to sleep longer than 15 minutes at a time, I would carry him around the house while he was still a little rat. As he started to get a little heavier, out came my ubba-babba baby-wrap which gave me a much-needed reprieve and the chance to get a few morsels of food into my mouth.

Up to this day, I still carry Samuel on my hip to make tea or do whatever else needs to be done (not the cooking, I do have to draw the line somewhere) because I just think that there’s a whole world above the kitchen counter that he doesn’t get to see but also because I really just love to have him with me, as in, in my sights! Yes I am somewhat obsessed with making sure my little Sunny-Bunny doesn’t get hurt unnecessarily and I should “hover” less but it’s just so much easier to have him with me and then we’re done and he’s safe. This is a very busy little boy who loves nothing more than to spend the day speed-crawling and climbing the stairs when he doesn’t know how to get back down! My love language is touch, so there’s nothing that I love more than to hold my son – and I do it A LOT!

The cutest thing is when Sam is with his dad – those two boys just melt my heart. What Lester does some nights with Sam is called “Fathering-Down” or simply, putting him on his chest to calm him or lull him off to Slumber-land. It’s the most beautiful sight to me because that means I get to be left alone enough to fall asleep but at least the hubby gets to be involved as well. The second sling in our home is for the “boys”. It’s used when we go to the park or the mall when Lester wants to carry Sam hands-free.

Will it carry on? Probably. I’m a chiropractor so I know all about the biomechanics of this age-old practice but I think a growing toddler might find the world out there more way interesting than the confines of his mother’s lap so for now, as long as he’ll let me, I’ll hold on until he let’s go. Please Lord, let that be a long time from now.

One Response to “I Love Wearing My Baby”

  1. Jason October 30, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Thanks Corinne for the share

    Like

Leave a Reply

