Sleeping Like A Baby

14 Nov

Would you like to sleep like  a baby or sleep like the dead?????? I prefer the latter. For those who have slept near a new-born (or older child, like me) know that these little angels can make quite a bit of noise without actually being awake. They grunt, whimper, sigh and even cry all while far away in La-la Land unbeknownst to the parents mother. Believe it or not, you don’t really want to sleep like a baby. Why? Babies’ sleep, especially in the early months, is typically full of interruptions. Their sleep cycles are much shorter than an adult’s, and it takes time for those cycles to get longer and for your baby to learn how to fall back to sleep on his own if he wakes up in the middle of the night. So why would people associate sleeping soundly and peacefully with babies???

To this very day, I cannot fall asleep until Sam is lying next to me and that’s my fault because I know he’ll wake looking for me long before the clock strikes midnight!!! Once he’s in my bed, he’s lights out and only the good Lord knows what magic secret ingredient is in parents bed. I would happily head off to the land of nod if I could count on my husband to see to Samuel but my little munchkin won’t have any of that so its Mom-to-the-rescue.

In a desperate attempt to get some shut-eye, I took half a sleeping tablet a couple of nights in a row and guess what, Sam slept pretty well, a friend believes it’s because I was dead to the world and not faffing over him. Probably true but let me just add, in my defense, that I was still able to hear Sam AND get up to see to him, the difference was that I would fall asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow – like literally, I’ve never been able to say that before! Needless to say, I battled to be “fully” awake at five o’clock in the morning when my little Sunshine woke so that put a swift end to the tablets. My next bet was a homeopathic remedy called rescue, which helps provide a sense of calm and that’s helped me fall asleep pretty well.

There are many families in the world willing to sleep with their kids in very close proximity and I have to wonder how other parents manage to sleep. From the moms that I’ve spoken to, unbroken sleep seems to be a way of life until your kids decide when they want to sleep through the night.

At least I know I’m still not alone – Sleepless in South Africa…. (yawn). On second thought, maybe I need to be sleep-trained….

2 Responses to “Sleeping Like A Baby”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sleeplessness is Only a Dream « Firepitboss - November 16, 2011

    […] Sleeping Like A Baby (maidentomotherhood.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Comedy, Uncategorized and tagged Conditions and Diseases, Health, Insomnia, Research, Sleep, Sleep disorder, Time management, United States. […]

    Like

  2. Sleeping with my eyes open O_O | A Real Mummy Diary - January 3, 2012

    […] Sleeping Like A Baby (maidentomotherhood.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted on January 3, 2012, in Emotional, Physical, pregnancy and tagged Health, pregnancy, sleep, Sleep deprivation. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

