Gallery

Breaking Dawn

17 Nov

For those of you who do not live on planet Earth or have not had the inkling to follow the Twilight Saga….. you need to have your head checked!!!! So while not all of us are into Vampires, I for one am a huge fan of the ONE book of Stephenie Meyer‘s that I managed to read in two days – let me just add that this was in the pre-Samuel era were sleeping in, clean clothes and money spent on my whims and fancies WAS the way of order of the day. Was that in my lifetime???? Err… back to the story at hand.

So the basic plot is that Breaking Dawn is split into three separate parts. The first part details Bella’s marriage and honeymoon with Edward, which they spend on a private island, called Isle Esme, off the coast of Brazil (dreamy). Two weeks into their honeymoon, Bella realizes that she is pregnant with a half-vampire, half-human child and that her condition is progressing at an unnaturally accelerated rate. After contacting Carlisle, who confirms her pregnancy, she and Edward immediately return home to Forks, Washington. Edward, concerned for Bella’s life and convinced that the fetus is a monster as it continues to develop with unnatural rapidity, urges her to have an abortion. However, Bella feels a connection with her unborn baby and refuses. The novel’s second part is written from the perspective of shape-shifter Jacob Black, and lasts throughout Bella’s pregnancy and childbirth. Jacob’s Quileute wolf pack, not knowing what danger the unborn child may pose, plan to destroy it and kill Bella. Jacob vehemently protests this decision and leaves, forming his own pack with Seth and Leah Clearwater. The fetus in Bella’s body grows swiftly and Bella soon gives birth, but the baby breaks many of her bones, including her spine, and she loses massive amounts of blood. In order to save her life, Edward changes her into a vampire by injecting his venom into her heart. Jacob, who was present for the birth, almost immediately “imprints”—an involuntary response in which a shape-shifter finds his soul mate—on Edward and Bella’s newborn daughter, Renesmee. If you’re following that’s only two parts which makes up “Part 1” of the movie but if you’ve read the book, you already know what’s going to happen in “Part 2″of the movie or part 3 of the book.

I COULD NOT for the life of me put that book down! You couldn’t pry it from my hands at 3 o’clock in the morning if your life depended on it – it was spell-binding to say the least and thank the good Lord I read it before Samuel was born, I might have been charged with child neglect in the first degree. I happened to really love the narration because the characters and scenes had been set for me when I watched Twilight,

 New Moon and Eclipse. For those of us Twilight Saga groupies, re-runs on DSTV count, can I hear an amen somebody????Those brave enough (or childless) to have bought all four books AND read them, some say that the movies didn’t match up to the books, then again and in the producers defense, they do only have like two hours to fit in six hundred and ninety-nine pages minus the vampire index.

 As for Team Edward versus Team Jacob – give me the warm-blooded, hot-headed, chocolate-brown, muscle-busting, extremely yummy J-A-C-O-B!!!!!!!! Hold on while a take some time to wipe the copious amount of drool off my face before I go ahead. No prizes for guessing which team I’m rooting for despite the fact that Bella never chooses him, he’s plenty eye-candy for me thanks. I’ll eat him with a teaspoon.

Enough gushing. I hate to say it but I was disappointed with the movie, I left deflated. Maybe it was a combination of having read the book and the build-up to the movie release that left me at an anti-climax. I expected more! I wanted more! I wanted to see the loving vampire family interactions and “the fight”, come on, and who knows how long I’m going to have to wait for “Part 2”??? Strangely enough, it made me want to stay in the toilet and re-read my book, go back and reminisce on all the details left out, lie awake at night and quietly page through or call my helper in on the weekend to look after my child just so that I can hide out in my garage (car) and get that warm fuzzy feeling of seeing good triumph over evil in the Cullen’s happily ever after….

I’m a hopeless romantic…

One Response to “Breaking Dawn”

  1. Seymour Nace December 2, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    Just got back from watching the new Twilight movie. It’s better than I expected! My boyfriend already downloaded the whole movie. I need to go watch again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

