Can you say PYSCHO???

8 Jan

No not me or anyone I know for that matter. Recently I got the opportunity to study again, full-time or part-time at my discretion but I’m going the whole hog and  the full Monty, orientation, classes, assignments and exams for the next four years!

In grade 11, I went to see an educational psychologist who ran a battery of psychometric tests for cognitive function, personality and the like to see which careers (as a rough guide) would be of interest to me based on the results. Needless to say, I was very much into helping people (which I still love) but this time around, my priorities have changed somewhat. Choosing a career path once you leave the safe haven of high school is such a big responsibility – what do we know really about how the world works or whether our career choice will bring the fantasy to fruition?

On the day of the psychometrics, I sat with three teenagers and all they spoke about was getting loads of money in the least amount of time,  with as little work to do as possible – we’ve all had those deillusions of grandeur at some point or another.Having had a very hilarious conversation with some girlfriends about  the studying saga in general, the truth is that while a diploma or degree of sorts is always good to fall back on, what’s really important is the application of oneself in life and in the working world. Some people are really fortunate to get by without having much of a formal education but those tend to be the exception and not the rule, in my opinion.

I have such mixed feelings about being a full-time student AGAIN six years later. While I’m a little more mature, there’s no denying that the stakes are raised; I have no time or money to waste! If there’s something I don’t understand during class, I’m not going to sit back like I would have all those years ago and battle it out on my own. Questions like: can I still do it again, do I still have what it takes, am I crazy all plague me from time to time.  Who knows what these next four years will be like or what experiences it will bring, having a family now complicates the “student life” all the more, no more lazy days for me.

Oh well…. 2012 is definitely the start of a new chapter for me. I better buckle up and enjoy the ride…

Life is not about finding yourself but about creating yourself and whatever you want your life to be.

Leave a Reply

