I hate cockroaches!!!!!!!

13 Jan

Just thinking about them is starting to make me itch, eek. I realize that communal living only makes it worse but it was so bad over Christmas that when we left for Durban, we dropped off THREE passengers at our half way stop. They make my skin crawl and why is it that with all the modern technology we have at our disposal, these blighter’s still manage to remain immortal? I am so creeped out and even more than that, highly embarrassed when they come out to greet my guests. Seeing them just makes me want to spit demons!

I’ve had a run in with a bat years ago, while in my parents house. I had left my bedroom window open one starry summer evening and the damn thing flew into my room. Side note: being as paranoid as I am, I never sleep with my room door open so that if there was an intruder, naturally I would hear them but I wasn’t sure how things would proceed from then because it wasn’t like I had a knife or something under my pillow to defend myself. Oh, and the cupboard doors stay shut AND locked (even up to today) if someone was hiding in there and wanted to kill me, at least I would get a good night’s rest while awaiting my death until I decided to get dressed in the morning, weird I know! Back to the bat. Anyway, so here this creature was flying around in my room and when I finally pluck up the courage to call my dad to turn the light on, lo and behold, there was not a single bat in sight, it was like it had disappeared into thin air! The following evening, as I was drawing my curtains, right in front of me falls the rascal – I could have jumped out of my skin there and then!

But back to the horrors, here are some “so-called” interesting facts about these critters:

  • Cockroaches have been around since the time of dinosaurs! (That’s our problem right there!)
  • A cockroach can live almost a month without food and for about two weeks without water. (So there’s no way to starve them to death)
  • Some female cockroaches only mate once and stay pregnant for life! (That explains why they will never be on the endangered species list, EVER)
  • A cockroach can live for up to one week without its head! (That’s why you need to stand on them until their guts pop out)
  • Cockroaches can hold their breath for up to 40 minutes

Cockroaches crawl through dirty areas and then walk around our homes tracking in lots of bacteria and germs. They can contaminate food by shedding their skins. Their cast off skin and waste byproducts are allergens that can trigger allergic reactionsasthma and other illnesses, especially in children.

I don’t have much of a problem with insects in general except for my fear of moths, you know those big giant ones that don’t seem to know where they’re flying and sense your fear so they fly towards you in a zig-zag sort of way. Geckos and beatles don’t bother me in the least. Frogs, I steer clear of but nothing gives me the creeps more than these wretched cooties! Leave me with a bat again but don’t let me be alone with those nasties! After checking out the facts on the net, the only real purpose for roaches is that they are prey for other insects, what a waste! And in fact, one of the many questions that I’m going to ask God when I see him is: “What the hell dude? Were they really necessary??????”

One Response to “I hate cockroaches!!!!!!!”

  1. Laura January 19, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    I am not a huge bug person myself! I just doom the daylights out of anything crawling/flying around!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

