Real women have curves in my opinion….

10 Feb

And not having curves DOES NOT make you any less of a women! In the society we live in, size definitely matters! How and why that came about, began a long time ago. There was a time where voluptuous women were envied for their curves and yet in the 21st century the picture has completely changed. I was pleasantly surprised when I walked past a magazine stand and on a recent issue of HEAT magazine they were showing pictures of female celebs who were rounder, sporting wobbly looking tummies and chunkier arms to boot. It was so refreshing and the titles included quotes like: “I eat everything”, “I will never be thin again” and “food doesn’t define me”. WOW! Maybe the tide is changing and we really go back to what is real and what we know to be true!

Research now reveals, according to msnbc.com. that watching a curvaceous woman can feel like a reward in the brain of men, much as drinking alcohol or taking drugs might.  Each society develops a general perception of what an ideal female body shape would be like. These ideals are generally reflected in the art and literature produced by or for society, as well as in films and magazines.
The ideal or preferred female body size and shape has varied over time and continues to vary among cultures;but a preference for a small waist has remained fairly constant throughout history. A high waist-hip ratio has often been seen as a sign of good health and reproductive potential (yay for me) . A low waist-hip ratio has also often been regarded as an indicator of attractiveness of a woman, but recent research suggests that attractiveness is more correlated to body mass index than waist-hip ratio, contrary to previous belief (oops).

Notwithstanding wide cultural differences, researchers have confirmed that the waist-hip ratio (WHR) for a female very strongly correlates to the perception of attractiveness across all cultures. Women with a 0.7 WHR (waist circumference that is 70% of the hip circumference) are rated more attractive by men in various cultures. Such diverse beauty icons as Marilyn MonroeSophia LorenKim Kardashian , and theVenus de Milo all have ratios around 0.7. In other cultures, preferences vary, ranging from 0.6 in China, to 0.8 or 0.9 in parts of South America and Africa, and divergent preferences based on ethnicity, rather than nationality, have also been noted. The WHR is also shown to have a very high correlation to female fertility, thereby unknowingly guiding men’s evolutionary choices.

So there goes my diet (no, let me not lie) and trying to look like something or someone God didn’t create me to be. I might have been given Goddess status a few hundred centuries ago but then I might have smelt like a pig sty and lost my teeth. Oh well, I’m okay with my happy fat for now but I am plagued somewhat by what society determines what is Kosher and what is not… All in all, I think the group in our societies that would end up benefiting the most from this kind of celeb “blow-up” would definitely be tweenies. With all the media bombarding them  (and the rest of us) to fit in, they’ve got to know that being different isn’t always bad as long as they’re healthy. If I had a little girl, I know I would try as much as humanly possible to create a positive self-image as well as a positive relationship with food because in all honesty – as a colored person, food is part of our culture and exercising IS NOT! I’ve only ever been in love with food. Friends that claimed to be balemic were very few and when I tried to throw up, I thought: “but I liked what I ate!”. Putting down anyone that has suffered from or is still suffering with an eating disorder is not my style but an awareness that you are okay in your skin should be an all important goal.

Since I’ve found myself tipping the scale, I realized that I had to let go of defining my body as part of my personality – like I’m only sexy at a certain size while intellectually, I know that sex appeal is all about attitude. This has freed me to explore my interests candidly without having to wonder whether or not I “fit in” based on my looks. Learning how to dress this fabulous happy fat has had it’s fair amount of challenges and I may not have always done it right but it’s a work in progress, as we all are.

Never be ashamed of your curves. They make up a part of who you are and how you relate to those around you. Celebrate them. Love them and I can almost guarantee you that your partner will love YOU all the more!!!

“You don’t have to have a dancer’s body, just a body that dances” – Lynda Raino

4 Responses to “Real women have curves in my opinion….”

  1. Suzanne February 10, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    This is a good message! And one we should be hearing more often from the media. Way to go! 🙂

    Like

  2. gailkav February 11, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    Thanks for the pingback, I totally agree with your post.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Body Part Men Like About Women - February 11, 2012

    […] Real women have curves in my opinion…. (maidentomotherhood.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Real Beauty | maiden to motherhood - November 12, 2013

    […] me thinking about how I view my body. This is no new issue to my blog, I’ve spoken about how real women have curves and the like. Reading through some of the comments of the article, hit home for me again, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

