the big “O” – orientation week

26 Feb

The first week of February marked the beginning for first year students as it was orientation week. I can only describe it as feeling like a lost fart in a wind storm!!!! LOST. LOST. LOST! Hundreds of first years walked around some-what dumb struck at the sheer size of the campus and all the ongoing activities. The university I attend has absolutely useless signage in terms of showing newbies where to go and the lecturers response is that you have to walk around to find your classes and their respective notice boards – bleh!

Basically, we attended talks on the different subjects we’d be taking to get an idea of what lay ahead and what was expected of us, now that we were returning new students. I have never walked so much in my life and I was convinced that attending varsity would be one of the many way I would finally lose weight, that is if I stop eating like a race-horse! Think about it, there aren’t many obese people WALKING around campus’ (unless they’re the lecturers).

There really isn’t much for me to say, except that I kept to myself, I’m “slow to warm up” when it comes to socializing. You could tell in this week already who were the “cool kids” at school; who wanted to be everyone’s friend; the ONE girl who was always surrounded by boys because she just got out of an all girls’ school or the nerds who sat up front with zero social skills. My “need” to be organised ensured that I knew my way around the lecture theaters and not the hubbly stations along some canteens…

One thing that really surprised me was how my class mates thought I was in 2nd or 3rd year and how well I fitted in considering I’m married with a child! Those kids should definitely not do maths or they weren’t seeing straight, I however lapped up all this younger energy that was mine to possess. My hubby though had to ask why I would wake up every morning, happily apply my make-up and look all cute for varsity – to which I replied that I finally had a focus in life, a goal, a place to be and on another path to finding my dreams….

3 Responses to “the big “O” – orientation week”

  1. JayLeigh Hoods February 27, 2012 at 6:53 am #

    You go girl!

    Like

  2. ayabulela February 27, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    I remember my first day at Varsity, my lecturer asked if I was someone sister as I looked to tiny to be attending his class 🙂 Good luck with your studies!!

    Like

  3. Ash February 27, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    Hello, thanks for following my blog.

    Glad to hear that I’m not the only one going through the process of starting university!

    I look forward to reading more about your experiences.

    Cheers

    Ash

    Like

Leave a Reply

