What is it about being numero uno

23 Mar

There’s nothing that can work on any parents nerves more than a clingy toddler 24/7 regardless of how much time you spend with them and worse so when there’s no reason on God’s green earth for such behaviour!!!

About three or four weeks ago, my ranking (in Samuel’s world) went down by a notch and his dad was the man of the moment. Admittedly, my heart was a little sore that he didn’t want me to do everything until I bumped my head against a brick wall and came to my senses!!!! IT WAS BRILLIANT! Finally, my other half could now shoulder the burden that I had carried (not alone) for so long and every time Dadda wanted to send Sam over to Mamma, Sam would have none of  it. Even to the point where Sam would only go to sleep when Dadda was doing the bedtime-run AND still would allow Dadda the privilege of holding him at night (you must remember that those responsibilities were solely reserved for Mamma regardless). So I would wake up with a spring in my step and a tune on my lips – hallelujah, Sam has now finally realized that someone else is just as capable of and qualified  to see to him. Imagine my joy!

But truth be told, I secretly wanted to be wanted again or maybe I just liked being my little boy’s number one. And to put this little story into context, Sam has been sick for close to a month and we all know how clingy a sick baby can be so to see him want his dad only, pricked somewhat.

Needless to say, this week sparked a fresh flame in Samuel for Mamma again to the point where the suffocation of being wanted all the time is now really getting to me. And it’s mostly because the night-time antics revolve around him losing his mind because Dadda touched him when he specifically wanted Mamma – I mean really now. I need to remind little man that it actually did take BOTH his parents to make him – there definitely was no immaculate conception there buddy!

So the moral of the story: be careful what you wish for ’cause you just might get it but I still secretly like being numero uno at least until he’s 40 ok.

Leave a Reply

