#ProudFatGirlNewbieRunnerTweet

4 Oct

That’s what you’re going to get used to seeing on my Twitter TL (time line peeps) because this (not so little) couch potato, who loves both couches and (everything related to eating a) potato very dearly, has taken up a new sport!!!

For a long time now, I’ve envisioned myself running! Stop laughing Robyn! Yes R.U.N.N.I.N.G! Sweat and all. It was glorious in my mind. I ran for miles with my headband and my iPod in my armband to keep me company. 

Firstly, I had to find a sports bra (read boulder holder) for really, really, really big boobs. Quite frankly, that was my initial excuse (apart from having curly, colored hair) for not venturing on that route. How on earth was I going to avoid  giving myself a blue eye or knocking myself unconscious, you tell me? Then, a very helpful Tanya Kovarsky over at “Keep Calm and Run” pointed me and the girls in the right direction, so to speak. We found an A-mazing contraption for, drum roll please… extreme sports in a size 38E!!! At a mini-fortune, there were no more excuses since the hair had been beaten by the Brazilian Blow wave (the hair do).

Note, by this time, I hadn’t been within a 10 kilometer radius of a gym nor had I hit the road! In my mind, thoughts of running was just as good as the real thing. This little delusion continued for weeks until one morning, I braved the traffic and headed off to the gym with my Nike sports watch to track my “progress”.

Since then, it’s been almost three whole weeks and my goal is to do the We Run Jozi 10k this Sunday with 20 000 other crazy people but I’m so looking forward to my first race. Look, I’m anticipating doing WAY more walking, in my case it would be called the We Walk Jozi 10k but hey, I’ll have hubby right there (literally next to me, that’s what he says now) giving me support. What more could this fat girl ask for?

I’ll keep you posted (can’t promise when) but I’ll definitely be tweeting my way through it too….

6 Responses to “#ProudFatGirlNewbieRunnerTweet”

  1. Robyn October 4, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    You go girl(s) – you and your 38E friends! xxx

    Like

    • Corinne October 4, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      At least they know their place(s)!!!

      Like

  2. Lauren October 4, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    I need to get off my arse and try to get moving. I think you might have inspired me to at least try to find something that also wont leave my face black and blue 🙂

    Like

    • Corinne October 4, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      If I can do it, so can you! All the best…

      Like

  3. Tanya Kovarsky October 4, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Very proud of you. Your life changes on Sunday 🙂 Glad the girls have a good, secure and stable home 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

