Attitude 2 and 3 of a Giant Slayer – Being Wholehearted & Facing Our Fears

16 Apr

This was written by my pastor at His People Joburg, feel free to follow her on Twitter @CarolGossman, she most certainly follows hard after God!

GIANT-SLAYING ATTITUDE #2 – BEING WHOLEHEARTED

Numbers 14:24 But because my servant Caleb has a different spirit and follows me wholeheartedly, I will bring him into the land he went to, and his descendants will inherit it.

To follow God wholeheartedly means to bring all of your heart (your emotions, will and desire) into each situation. Unfortunately most of us have been hurt at some stage in our lives and the most common way of dealing with emotional pain is to hide that part of our hearts away. We hide our pain behind blame-shifting (unforgiveness), pretending, trying to forget and anger. This makes us feel a bit better for a while but ultimately means that that part of our heart is locked away from the presence of God. Hurt may happen time and time again and each time we may shut away part of our hearts. This means that when we face life’s ups and downs we only have a small part of our hearts left. We are a shadow of who God created us to be, with most of our hearts locked away for protection. This is not a recipe for success. God wants to unlock the hidden parts of our hearts, heal them and restore them to wholeness. This requires us being honest and open about what we have been through and allowing God to speak to, love and heal even the ugliest and most secret parts of our lives. God wants us to live authentically and without veils. That is, being the same on the inside as we are on the outside; living truthfully and unashamed.

GIANT-SLAYING ATTITUDE #3 – FACING OUR FEARS

When I was young we used to go to a small town on the KZN South Coast for holidays. The beach was very steep and as a result the sea got deep very quickly and the waves were very big. I longed to go out past the breakers to swim with my Dad but whenever I tried the waves would intimidate me. I would run away from them but they caught me, tumbled me over and over, and dumped me unceremoniously on the beach. After many frustrating days I discovered that if I ran towards the waves and caught them before they broke that instead of them tumbling me I simply floated over the top of them. It was a breakthrough! I got my wish…I spent many happy hours splashing around with my Dad.

Most giants are projections of our fears and I have discovered over the years that they are very similar to those waves of my childhood. When we face them and move forward, they are seldom as bad as we thought they would be. Please notice that I didn’t say that we would always be unafraid –we are all afraid sometimes, but we don’t have to live running from the things we fear, they are conquerable.

1 Samuel 17:48–49 As the Philistine moved closer to attack him, David ran quickly toward the battle line to meet him. 49 Reaching into his bag and taking out a stone, he slung it and struck the Philistine on the forehead. The stone sank into his forehead, and he fell facedown on the ground.

As David moved toward Goliath, God took the small stone that David slung and used it to kill Goliath. It is seldom that a grown man, let alone a giant would be killed by a single stone, but God will use any effort that we exert in faith to bring us victory.

God will use what you have to destroy the giants in your life, live partnered with Him, wholeheartedly and facing your fears and victory is assured!

Leave a Reply

