Part 2 of the Nestle Salt Awareness Food Challenge

7 Jun
My gift in the post

My gift in the post

So last week I explained in THIS post about the Food Challenge by Nestle’. Here’s a look at what got delivered to my home, complete with a recipe as well for the recipe below.

 Here’s the recipe, Beef Stroganoff: (serves 4)

Ingredients:

Flour for dusting

500g

Beef fillet cut into strips

30ml

Olive oil

30g

Unsalted butter

250g

Red peppers, sliced

1

Onion, chopped

30ml

Maggi Lazenby Worcestershire sauce

7.5ml

Mustard

2.5ml

Paprika

250ml

Boiling water

250ml

Nestle’ Ideal Cook-in milk, mushroom and garlic flavour

Freshly ground black pepper

30g

Flat leaf parsley

 Instructions:

Dust beef strips lightly in flour, this step is very important and I made a rookie error. I dusted the beef with too much flour and in the end my gravy was way too thick and floury (in taste) if you know what I mean. Heat a frying pan and add oil and half of the butter. When foaming, add the beef and fry for 2-3 minutes on both sides until browned all over. I prefer to brown (cook) my meat for much longer, I left my meat on low heat for about 20-30 minutes so that it would be more tender. Remove and set aside.

Using the same frying pan, add the remaining butter. Fry the onions for 2-3 minutes until softened. Add the mushrooms and red peppers and cook for a further 2 minutes. Add the Worcestershire sauce, mustard and paprika to cook for 1 minute. Add the water and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 5 minutes. Add the cook-in milk and mix well. Return the beef to the pan and cook for 1 minute. Finally add the black pepper and parsley and serve with brown rice or pre-cooked Tagliatelle pasta.

The next recipe

The next recipe

Because we’re trying to cut down on salt intake, I added twice as much garlic in the beginning of the process and sweet basil dried herbs in the end. I must (quietly) admit that my dish was not a resounding success for me because of the floury gravy but I added milk (like for a white sauce) and that did salvage it somewhat.

I have not been put off my quest with Nestle’, I had so much fun that I’m going to give it another bash with this…. I’ll keep you posted, its Creamy Prawn Fettucine…. delish!

 

2 Responses to “Part 2 of the Nestle Salt Awareness Food Challenge”

  1. Cassandra Ally June 7, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    Hi babygirl…..I’m so very proud of you ,,,trying out your cooking skills, don’t stop trying! 1 comment I think you fried your own beef strips for another second, they would’ve jumped out your frying pan and ran throught the door!!!!

    Like

  2. anabolic cooking recipes June 13, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    I love your writing style really loving this website .

    Like

Leave a Reply

