What’s in your whole heart?

15 Jan

Well Hello 2013… so far it’s been good! I have so many posts in draft talking about stuff that happened in 2012 that I needed to get closure on and I’ll get to that. I didn’t want to start my first post for the new year on a downer. The start of 2013 has been so amazing in a small kind-of-quiet way the there is no such thing as co-incidence, for me. There have been a post or two explaining how I feel followed by Angels and  Coincidences but what I’ve come to find, is that there are people placed in your life that speak those deep and quiet things of your heart back to you. Like when you feel something so deeply and things change, you sometimes put aside what your heart desired and locked up that little place in your heart without anyone knowing. While the subject may come up in company, we put on brave faces and pretend like what we felt didn’t matter anymore, even to ourselves. And then one day, things just click, like someone somewhere was holding a key and with a few insignificant words, that locked up little place was opened. There are no words at times to explain but there is a beautiful peace that makes you okay with that part of you.

Let me explain. I know my husband is gong to kill me for this post. Having another child is a big decision for any couple who hasn’t been caught out, so to speak. It’s a daunting task of note because it involves finances, emotions of all kinds and a lot of consideration in general. Back in the day, big families were the order of the day and people were frowned upon for choosing to have less kids. As time went on, couples had fewer kids in pursuit of a better life and today it has greater economic ramifications than emotional ones. Parents with unplanned 2nd pregnancies have had no choice but to deal with the situation before them; but to actively decide to have another one can weigh heavily on one’s heart. Before having kids, I think we were both happy with the idea of having two (for me) or three (for him). At some point in our marriage, I felt  that it was time to have a child. Funny story that! Whenever someone asked us when we would have kids, our magic year was 2010 – for no reason other than it seemed way out there, like it was a long time to come. So along came 2009 with a deep yearning in my soul to have a child, I prayed about it, sought advice and just cried some nights because we were nowhere near ready financially to have a child. Lester finally gave in and seven months later we were pregnant. Now let me just say that it was a hard decision for him, not because he didn’t ever want to have children but because as a Provider, the weight of not being able to care for your family for a man rests heavily on their hearts and manhood and rightly so; it’s why I chose to be with him, knowing that one day he would do what he could to be a good Provider. Sadly, I think that I’ve made it hard for him. He’s put up with carrying a wife with two financially unsuccessful practices and now studying full-time – we’ve had to put A LOT of goals, dreams and endeavors on hold because we live from hand to mouth. For a long time after Samuel was born he blatantly refused to entertain the idea of having another child ever, like ever! As painful as it was for me to hear that, I knew that his heart still carried the heaviness of being responsible for a family and so I quietly closed off a part of me. Now you’ll hear me talk about how things are cheaper having one child and I’ve made plans in my heart for family holidays and varsity fees and the like all for one child. The argument in my mind went something like this -1. the age gap will be too big because I’m studying for another three years, must find work and then work long enough to claim maternity benefits, it would be another five years and Samuel would be like seven already. 2. Samuel would be independent and then I’d have to start all over again with the sleepless nights. 3. Kids are expensive so I need to get a job! 4. I would have got rid of all his bottles,cot, baby stuff and the to start all over from scratch would be expensive.

Secondly, there’s the boobs!!! I have never been silent on how much I’d love to get them chopped off, I swear I’d lose 5 kgs INSTANTLY. I’ve even gone as far as to find a plastic surgeon to consult with to relieve my agony. Photos are my worst, I’m never closer to the camera because they are magnified, yes worse than in real life. Sleeping on my stomach is still a pain. They really aren’t that attractive at all and I’ve just about found a range that comfortably holds these boulders.

Now for the point of all my blubbering – the two stories have a connection. Someone that I’ve only met on Twitter had a “heart-to-heart” with me and she didn’t even know it. She posted a pic of her two boys walking in the sand, hand-in-hand; what she later explained was that there was a 6 year gap between them. Number one was planned and in her mind that was it but now that little number two has come along, unexpectedly, their entire family is so much better off for it. A few days later, Lester shared a conversation he had with a cousin of his. He said they were talking about kids and he was on his usual rant about Samuel being the only one and then she began to share part of the ethos of the church she attends, which is to build faith and pray for the growth of families and to trust God for the finances to take care of the families. We place so much else before God in prayer, why not add this to the list too right? What’s been amazing is that we don’t know when and how BUT we are open to the possibility of having another child. The age gap might be bigger than we want it but it’s not a deal-breaker or the end of the world.

Connected to this is that if I do have number two, I most certainly want to breastfeed and that won’t happen if I have surgery. It might not be a big deal to most since we have the invention of formula but it’s close to my heart. A very dear friend of mine (who also has Udders) made me feel like it was okay to be me (with my girls) more so because breast-feeding was/is so important to her too.

There were no fireworks in the sky, no earth-shattering quakes but a still, quietness that said that those things on your heart are important as insignificant as they may seem to even you. Don’t ignore the infinite possibilities and all that God so wants to bless you with TO BLESS OTHERS. Open up those little places in your heart, they are a part of you and your dreams, they deserve the chance to find their way into your reality – you just might be way better off for it.

Here’s to a whole-hearted 2013 and all the whispers, meetings, angelic visitations and glorious acts of God’s goodness to come.

 

6 Responses to “What’s in your whole heart?”

  1. Robyn January 15, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    OH HALLELUJAH! The Wanderlust will have a brother or sister, after seeing him this weekend, he definitely needs one to join him on his escapades! Well said, let’s not limit God with our small thinking, but rather open ourselves up for the glorious riches he has in store for us! lovely post xx

    Like

  2. Sam January 15, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

    Loved this post. We are hoping to move house and attempt to expand our family via IVF #7 this year and my hubby is also concerned about money. I am really focusing on the fact that our God is my provider and that the money will be fine with Him as my source of provision.

    xxx

    Like

    • Corinne January 15, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

      Thanks Sam. I wish you well with IVF and all that your heart desires. Our God is greater than our fears and so true to his Word. There’s always hope xxx

      Like

      • Sam January 15, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

        Amen xxx

        Like

  3. charmaine January 15, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    You know Corrine,you would be surprised at how many mothers have the same feelings.I’m one of them.

    My first baby was conceived under the disguise of”We want to see if we can get pregnant”. And my little bundle was born March 2011.A healthy bouncy baby girl!

    Now as much as my dear husband would unconvingly deny the pressure of producing an “heir” for him and his family.An heir is still very dominantly a big issue in our african culture,worst of all as he is the only son.A Dali heir is required and I cannot guarantee such.I believe that children are from God and he decides which gifts to give you.He can do all things.He softenes the heart of men when his time has come to send you your bundle of cuteness.

    I have the pressure of producing a boy child.
    I want/need to loose 30+ kgs still holding on from my pregnancy days.Obese comes2mind
    I’m studying fulltime again this year.
    My career just started.I was just promoted on the 1st December 2012.I cannot possibly get pregnant now.

    However, the whisperings that Iv been drowning have been heard.So,2013.We might be expecting.God has softened my heart and made me open to possibilities…somehow,I have a feeling that I’ll be alright.

    Like

    • Corinne January 15, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      It will all work out somehow and I wish you everything of the best for this year and those to come. I hope you get your boy xxx

      Like

Leave a comment